Hi guys, I am new here. Just for some background I have owned many pedals over the years but don't know much about the newer pedals (from 99 to now). I have played many Boss pedals (metal zone, heavy metal, chandler tube drivers, fulltone fuzz pedals, mxr distortion plus, etc.) I started playing again and I am not sure which direction I should go.
I have been using a Boss DS-1 pedal and love the sound it gives with playing chords with my ESP MH1000 w/ EMG 81 in bridge. It sounds pretty good for a cheap pedal. However when I go to do fast leads it seems to lose it and not be very smooth. Part of it could be my playing also. I was wondering should I use another pedal to add more gain to this one for leads or get another pedal that will have enough gain to do both?

I really want something with 5150 gain. I had a Mesa Dual Rectifier and the gain was good but I always preferred the 5150 for lead work. I had a 5150 years back but I need a good clean so I like to use a Fender twin with a pedal. I really liked the sensitivity of the 5150 when playing leads. It covered things up well also if I made an error.

What do you guys think? What pedal do they sell now that sounds good but has insane gain for lead but can still have complete full sounding chords?

OR

Do you guys think I should keep the Boss DS-1 (cheap orange dist. pedal) and put a pedal in front of it for leads? If so which pedal would boost the sensitivity and not feedback?
Last edited by twilightcall at Mar 23, 2009,
Fulltone GT-500 might be worth looking into. It's not "insanely" high gain, but if you have a high gain amp it it will do the job. It also has a built in boost channel for lead work, very tight sound though. I've loved mine for high gain solos (in tandem with a high gain soldano amp).
Suhr Custom, Flaxwood Rautia or Grosh Tele thru
HBE Medicine Bawl Wah
Analogman BiComp
Texas Two Step OD
Fulltone Ultimate Octave/Fuzz
Boss CE-2
TC Nova Delay
SLO-100, 65 London or Bogner Shiva