So, I am not trying to brag, but every other technique comes easier to me than SWEEP PICKING! It is so frustrating!

I am curious to know how to make it easier? I know practice, practice, practice... but I have been playing for 7 years and it is still tough. I have tried slowing things down and building up speed, but I only show little improvement. Does anyone else have this problem with sweep picking?
GEAR:
SCHECTER LOOMIS FR
LTD EC-1000
LTD DV-200
my problem is i can do it perfectly fine one day, as fast and clean as i want, then the next i sound like a total noob i dont get it, its like i forget how to do it within like 15 hours
'93 Gibson LP Studio (498T/490R)-Ebony
'14 Gibson LP Standard (JB/Jazz)-Ocean Water Perimeter
Epi MKH LP Custom-7 (SD Custom Shop JB-7)-Ebony
+More

Maxon od808|Boss NS-2|Boss CE-5|
Line6 G55|Korg Pitchblack Pro

JVM 210h|1960a(V30/G12t-75)
What is your problem when speeding it up?
Sloppyness?
Missing notes?
Etc.
Ibanez ICT-700 WH

Behringer V-Amp Pro

Fender Frontman 25A
Try being patient with it. Not everything will come easy y'know.
Guitars:
Gibson Explorer - White
PRS SE Singlecut
Fender Acoustic

Amps:
Crate head w/ POD preamp
Crate 120 watt POS
Crate Cab
Try the Sweep picking youtube lesson Vids. The concept of sweeping was confusing to me until i watched a few. Certain sweeps need to start on a certain upstroke or downstroke to be able to do the sweep...

Can you play arrpegios?
Quote by RCA1186
my problem is i can do it perfectly fine one day, as fast and clean as i want, then the next i sound like a total noob i dont get it, its like i forget how to do it within like 15 hours

This just sounds like you'v ebeen playing for a year or so, and think you have sweep picking down.

Im currently learning it so im building up my speed.
Quote by RCA1186

Same here!

On three thing sweeps I have trouble hitting the B string clearly enough, and on 5 string sweeps my picking is to far ahead of my left hand movement. If that makes sense...