Hi guys, I'm really a true newb to guitars, and i got my first guitar last week. It's an Ebony Epiphone SG special, nothing fancy, but it was relatively inexpensive and it's good for what I need right now. 2 things are bugging me about this guitar from the get go.

First, I tuned it, and it tuned up really nicely and stays in tune pretty well, but the strings buzz a bit. My cousin, who is a semi-professional player said that he wouldn't touch the bridge, but that maybe some thicker strings where in order. He said that something in the .09 gauge ballpark would be fine. I just wanted a second opinion before I jet off to guitar center to make a purchase.

Second, this guitar doesn't have a pickguard. It's not that big of a deal, but I want one because black is hard enough to keep looking decent to start off with, let alone without a guard. now, i've found a few aftermarked guards that look nice enough, but I'm apprehensive to drill holes in my brand new guitar. I'm pretty handy and know how to operate all the tools I'd need, but I just wanted to know was this mod feasible before I ordered parts?

Finally, I know that this is a low end guitar, but are there any relatively affordable ($50> things that I should invest in for the guitar that would make my time with it more enjoyable? hopefully in 18 months or so, I can upgrade to a real nice piece, but for right now it's me and the SG.

thanks in advance
-Josh
Last edited by ATLstang at Mar 24, 2009,
I dont think you need to upgrade anything on your guitar.As for string buzz, you could take it to someone to have it fixed, but if its not that bad dont bother.I have no idea about pickgaurds, but I say dont bother.If you want to get a nice guitar in about a year and a quarter, dont bother tricking out your $150 guitar.
$180 dollar guitar thank you, haha. It's not so much that I want to trick it out as I don't want it to look like crap in a year no matter how cheap it cost.