Good *insert time of day at your current location at the moment*, bass forum.

I have come to the realization that I cannot read standard notation for bass AT ALL. If I were to dedicate a little bit of time each day towards learning this skill, what benefits would I get out of it?

In what genres is being able to read standard notation important? I am just beginning to play jazz; will learning to read help me in playing with other jazz musicians? I also like playing your standard 4/4 rock songs, but I also really like playing progressive rock and metal where the time signature is changing constantly.

In what settings would you say standard notation is almost a must, and on the other side, where will you rarely find people playing a genre that read music?
Reading notation is very important in jazz. I think it's very important in all music because, even if you're not reading notation, being able to read notation lends itself to a better understanding of music in general. My lead guitarist is really good but has trouble with certain rythms. Whenever me and my brother(rythm guitar,vocals) try to explain a rythm to him he gets lost because he doesn't understand what we're talking about. He often says he wished he would've learned this stuff when he started playing guitar. He managed to get by for 20years without learning it, but he wishes he had learned it.

I'd say that rock/metal would be the most common genres to find people who can't read standard notation. People just wanna rock! ya know?
dean edge one 5 string
Schecter studio-4
Samick fairlane-6
Ibanez sb900
Ibanez btb775
Fender p bass special deluxe

Dean Del Sol
Ibanez prestige rg2610

Peavey TKO 65
Peavey vb-2
Quote by the_perdestrian
listen to revelation, for he is wise in the way of bass-fu
Last edited by Revelation at Mar 24, 2009,