In my profile.

My friend played rhythm and I did the vocals and most of the lead. I just got my Rode NT1-A mic, so this was the first chance I had to record vocals with something other than my crappy computer mic. I'm not very good at singing, just hoping that I can keep improving.

Anyway, if you could give it a listen and let me know what you think that would be great. It would be awesome if you could listen to one of the other covers and let me know if I'm improving with me vocals, but any comments are appreciated. Thanks.

C4C.

(Short: New mic, let me know what you think, not great singer, hoping to improve)

edit: oh yeah, I improvised some of the lyrics cause I was just practicing with the mic, so it doesn't make much sense, but I won't be able to record again for awhile, so I wanted to post it anyway.
Last edited by dolphinfan2k5 at Mar 25, 2009,
Thanks for your comment.

The guitar was great, but you do need to work on your singing. I've found that the best way to get better at singing is simply to sing (sounds obvious doesn't it) as much as you can. I sing harmonies to songs whenever I'm driving or just sitting at my desk listening to music. So far it's helped a lot . Other than that try to use more air to make your voice stronger, and concentrate a lot on staying on pitch.

You also need to raise the volume of the vocal track a little bit, or pan it back to the middle, because in some spots it's very hard to hear.
The vocals are a bit quiet in places. Maybe some volume automation or compression there; it's not throughout the entire song. The vocals are spotty in some places.

I've found what's helped me a lot is, aside from singing all the time like samick said, is singing, on pitch, with things. Not just harmonies and in general, but singing along with the same pitches. This will help you become better at staying on pitch, by having a reference while you sing. Then, of course, the idea is to sing the song without the vocal track, if possible.