ok i'm a guitarist and got a question for all the bass players....my bassist is on the lookout for a new amp and cab. i'm wondering what to look for. money is really no object since we both'll be going in on it. but i was wondering what the local favs was. Solid State or Tubes, and what brands or good for each? he's currently using a behringer half stack(we both can attest to how BAD they are and we're not going to make this mistake again). hes not into the low end of things he likes his sound on high end of the eq spectrum. any suggestions?
fender aerodyne jazz bass>mxr el grande bass fuzz>boss odb-3>dunlop crybaby bass wah>randall rba 500 es/ampeg 8x10
well, im not a bassist, so i cant recemend an amp.
howerver, you can go to your local shop and ask the salesperson for help. if he's not a complete douche, he should be able to help you. and you'll be able to get a price and get to hear it right away.
Tell him to check out the Gallien Krueger line, seems like it would fit his criteria
Heads- 700rb, 800rb, 1001rb, Fusion 550
Cabs- SBX, RBH, RBX series
cool thanks any other suggestions
fender aerodyne jazz bass>mxr el grande bass fuzz>boss odb-3>dunlop crybaby bass wah>randall rba 500 es/ampeg 8x10
tubes are great for a deep sound. i use a tube amp for that. they can do bright tones too but there's no reason to pay the price for such an amp and have to change out tubes if he doesn't want that sort of tone. SS does bright just as well if not better than any tube amp i've played.