I played a little when I was in my late teens and early twenties. Then (typical of someone that age and with the habits I had back then) I pawned a pretty nice Les Paul and Peavey amp. Fast forward about 15 years, I got the bug again. Went and bought a low-end Washburn and a super-cheap amp. Then I found a site that has a bunch of circuit diagrams for effects and built myself a distortion pedal (actually, it uses a toggle switch for now) so I could get some sound out of that cheapo amp (I'm also an electronics hobbyist, go figure).

When I played before, let's face it - I sucked. I could play maybe 3 or 4 songs without totally screwing them up, and that's about it. When I tuned up my new guitar, plugged it in, and put fingers to fretboard, I was amazed at how much finger dexterity I've lost. I can type about 60 words per minute but can't friggin' play the intro to Cold Gin or Fade to Black.

Where do I start? Speed exercises? Scales? Learn some songs?

Maybe I should note that the music I like (and therefore would like to play) is mainly 80's metal (Metallica, not Poison...Slayer, not Winger...you get the idea) though I also like quite a bit of early Lynyrd Skynyrd, and even some of the outlaw country like Waylon Jennings and Johnny Cash, so I'd like to be able to play that kind of music too - though I imagine once I get to where I can actually play it'll just be a matter of hearing the song to get the rough idea, and maybe looking at the tab to figure out certain parts.

I'm taking my guitar, amp, notebook computer and all in the truck with me when I'm on the road, and I went and bought Guitar Pro for learning songs.

Any advice?
Well, start with scales and work your way up....work on your chord changes....play easy songs and all