How important is it for your instructor to have a degree in music? I have been teaching guitar and drum lessons at a private school for the last 3 years, and wanted to get a job teaching for a shop, but it seems they are only interested if you have a degree. I'm not a professional, but I did take private lessons for many years, have 4 years teaching experience, and would consider myself above average at both guitar and drums.
IT depends.

Really, it depends lol.

There are people with many degrees who are without a job, and people without degrees owning corporations.

In the end it comes down to the most persistent, and socially smart.

Why don't you talk to the guys at the shop about it? With such experience, and stuff to back it up, you would have a good chance.

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[font="Palatino Linotype
Who's Andy Timmons??
My studio is located at a music shop in Exeter, NH. None of our teachers have degrees in music (although a few have college degrees). When the owners bring in a new teacher they consider these things.

1. Is the person knowledgeable of the instrument?
2. Is the potential teacher personable?
3. Are we dealing with a reliable person?
4. Do we need a folk guitar teacher or a person who knows heavy metal etc.?
5. Are we looking for a male or a female teacher?

The store asks these questions because the students who contact them have preferences that need to be accommodated. The image that a store maintains with its community is important. Our store is closer to a "School of Rock" than an upscale conservatory of classical music. The conservatory is going to restrict its hiring of new teachers to those who have degrees.