Right, lets get one thing straight IM NOT DOING THIS TO SHOW OFF HOW GOOD/BAD I AM.
right, ive been playing guitar for nearly 11 months now. and my progress is going well
ive learnt a lot of techniques/theory/songs.
i finally got to grips with the One solo and showed it to my music teacher today and he seemed really impressed but he sat me down and said.
"paul, youre playing really great but... i fear youre learning to quick and i think you should just focus on the more basic stuff for the time being. then go on to learning really hard solos/licks/riffs"
so should i follow his advice or....
thanks for the advice
Quote by the.envy
Right, lets get one thing straight IM NOT DOING THIS TO SHOW OFF HOW GOOD/BAD I AM.

sure

anyway, he's right, start off slow, cuz youll miss a TON of stuff if you go for the throat of harder songs. my suggestion (i give this to a ton of people): LEARN BLUES! it is a terrific gateway into so many forms of advanced guitar music, and it definitely defines your feel for the melody.
Quote by AA00P
Listen to the man, he's Jewish.
well yeah you might miss out that important part of learning where you get rhythm, learn chords and the basic stuff.
But being good at solos can't harm you tho.
You should do both.
1. You're surfing the internet.
2. You're browsing through the UG forums.
3. You're reading now.
5. You didn't notice that there was no #4.
6. You just checked it.
7. Now you're having a lil smile.

Quote by hawk_kst
You Sir, have the best signature like ever!
Quote by guitarsftw
sure

anyway, he's right, start off slow, cuz youll miss a TON of stuff if you go for the throat of harder songs. my suggestion (i give this to a ton of people): LEARN BLUES! it is a terrific gateway into so many forms of advanced guitar music, and it definitely defines your feel for the melody.

This.

And pretty much everything else he said.