I don't even know anymore... A whole sleepless night was spent on this and what I want to know if it sounds like several intros put together or something more coherent.

~8 minutes long, just a warning. Not too much repetition either.

Anything is welcomed. Anything at all, ranging from the little sudden pauses here and there that will be cut during recording, to how bad the RSE china is. It's a rough demo, if you can call a .gp file that. I didn't bother to set the velocity and stuff, so don't comment on that and the mixing and stuff please. Just the quality of the composing.

Mostly I just want to know if this makes any sense to you. It's not experimental or anything, just a stream-of-consciousness thing where I made an overlong song with some pretty cool parts.

EDIT: Completely ignore the markers and stuff. I forgot they were there and can't be arsed to reupload.

Totally stealth edit: Also ignore the lack of bass. It won't be anything special, I'm a bad bassist.
Attachments:
kirbix's theme.zip
Last edited by kirbix at Mar 27, 2009,
Well, first off, it's not a bad piece. It definitely has some really good parts. Second... you need some bass in there. If nothing, just have it do root notes... it'll add ALOT to the entire piece.

BUT! It does seem to go nowhere with those good sections. After you get passed the diminished section(s) and into the riff at Bar 63, it starts to get better. Literally, everything until Bar 62 sounds like a whole different song, and to me, it doesn't really fit with the intro (which, by the way, was really good save for one chord: the chord in Bar 3). In which it starts to sound very Power Metal-ly.

The drum fill in the intro is alright... it does it's job.

The melodies from Bars 73 to 88 are alright. They're not bad.

Then you go back to the diminished stuff, which doesn't really fit with what good stuff you had going for you. I would say scrap all the diminished stuff (or turn it into it's own song), and keep everything else.