Hello,
I am a guitar teacher and I was curious if any other teachers would like to weigh in on this topic: How would you rate your students' ability to identify the notes on the guitar neck on all strings up to the 12th fret? I have an idea how my students are ( roughly 5 out of 10 overall). Also, as a teacher how important do you think knowing the notes on the fretboard is? I look forward to hearing your feedback. Thanks,

t.k. gardner
I'm not a teacher but I'll tell you anyway.

I don't have them memorized yet but by learning scales I know where they are. I intend on memorizing all of them.

As a player I find that it is important. When learning to play guitar, both theory and physical techniques and skills should be taught.
LTD EC-500 - 18v mod
Roland Cube 30
DigiTech RP-7 Valve Guitar Preamp/Multi-Effects Processor
I'm not a teacher either, but some guitar players don't care about those kind of things due to pure ignorance. You often see many amateur guitarists who play very well, but when it comes to basic theory or just simply knowing the notes on the fretboard they don't know a bit! If I were a teacher, I would make my students learn the fretboard if I knew they were dedicated enough to do so. If the student is just interested in playing a couple chords for the rest of his life along with a few strum patterns, I wouldn't bother because he/she obviously doesn't have the true passion to really get into the guitar.
Well I've recently began teaching, and I only teach kids from about 7-15, but, i have yet to quiz them the note names of frets up to 12. Im sure I can think of a few that could do it, but younger kids seem to not take in the names, and just ignore it. Its tough to try and get things to sink with them. I think knowing them yourself(or atleast knowing enough to count your way up) is crucial, because how can you teach someone it if you aren't sure yourself.

Also, weirdly enough, my music teacher in my highschools name is Mr.Gardner. Strange.