So...I'm a guitarist turned bassist (not because I suck, I prefer bass), and I was just thinking. I like to use effects with my bass (distortion and such), so I was wondering. Say I'm playing a gig and a guitarist's string breaks and has to go switch out. Could I hit an A/B button and make my bass sound like a guitar (or at least similar) using effects such as whammy, guitar distortion and other stuff?

tl;dr Can I make my bass sound similar to a guitar?
octave up>>tube guitar head>>bass cab=guitar sound
Quote by FatalGear41
I wouldn't call what we have here on the Bass Forum a mentality. It's more like the sharing part of an AA meeting.

Quote by Jason Jillard
HUMANITY WHATS WRONG WITH YOU.

Warwick Fortress>>Acoustic AB50

http://www.myspace.com/rustingbloom
You wouldn't want to make it sound like a guitar tho, if the guitar has to drop let the bass be consistent, if something drops out its better to be the top, especially if there are two guitars. Let your bass sound its best and let the guitar do the same.

As far as effects go I advise being as tasteful as possible and not using them for the sake of using them. If something sounds better with an effect then by all means use it, but if you're putting distortion on during a slap solo that's a totally different thing.
Quote by cakeandpiemofo
Of course I don't wanna go in the woods. There's bears in there.

Quote by Deliriumbassist
Jeff Ament is a sexy sexy beast.

Quote by Karvid
Yes. Chest hair = automatic awesome. Even if you're a woman.
Quote by slaptasticdave
You wouldn't want to make it sound like a guitar tho, if the guitar has to drop let the bass be consistent, if something drops out its better to be the top, especially if there are two guitars. Let your bass sound its best and let the guitar do the same.