I have been playing for about 2 months, I can do a lot of random little riffs, but the the things I can play that are really worth mentioning-

Smoke on the water
Ironman (Apart from solo's)
Californication (Everything apart from solo)
Intro to The Pretender
Knocking on heavens door
Random bits and riffs from some Metallica songs, most notably the intro to Enter Sandman and One.
I can play the minor pentatonic scale un under 6 seconds without looking.
And apart from that, a bunch of random stuff....

Anyway, taking my current skill level into account, what are some songs I should start to learning now, and what are some things I could expect to be playing in another 2,4 and 6 months.

If it helps, my favourite genres of music are metal and rock, and I only have an acoustic guitar at the moment.

And as hard as I try, I simply cannot play Smells like Teen Spirit, I can do it slow, but after hours of practice, I cant speed it up.
hmm bro all i can say is go out and jam with some friends, and if you dont have any that play guitar go find some, because you'll get a lot better from that then learning songs on your own , also try to do the ironman middle solo, it looks a lot harder than it is, it might take a few weeks to get down but trust me man it'll be worth it
Quote by Zugunruhe
for some reason this post makes me suspect theres something horribly wrong with you.

not that thats a bad thing...

...dont kill me.
same here
i can play a bunch of little riffs from a bunch of songs but i only know a handful of songs

a song to try might be through glass from stone sour.. it was one of the first i learned
or island in the sun by weezer
Quote by SOADrox429
Dude... I want to date a drum major. I bet they could fuck in time to Tool.
Last edited by chris88kolate at Mar 29, 2009,
practice practice practice practice practice practice practice practice.