Page 1 of 2
I've been thinking about learning another language for a while now and i guess i just have a few questions for those of you that are bi/multi-lingual - Oh! and only if you actually LEARNT it, rather than u know 2 languages because u speak another language at home (unless u feel u can contribute something)

1. How did u learn another language? school etc.
2. How long did it take?
3. Did u consider it "hard" to learn?
4. What language/s was it? and do u think that had a bearing on any of the above factors?
I'm trying to learn Swedish, but it's kinda failing, because languages aren't meant to be self taught.
My Gear
Guitars
Cort VX-2V
Basses
Stagg BC300
Amps
Marshall JCM900 4100 DR
Marshall 1965A
Hartke HA3500 Combo
Well, I was taught English when i was 7 years old. I also learned Russian when i was 14 (native language is German, so it was not that difficult.) The best thing to do is to not get frustrated, find some sort of program (Rosetta Stone is the ****) and watch plenty of movies and television with subtitles, that way it helps you with word association and context clues. Also, vocabulary is very important. Its going to take a lot of time to learn a language so I would be sure what language you are wanting to learn.
Quote by dispreferred
I've been thinking about learning another language for a while now and i guess i just have a few questions for those of you that are bi/multi-lingual - Oh! and only if you actually LEARNT it, rather than u know 2 languages because u speak another language at home (unless u feel u can contribute something)

2. How long did it take?
4. What language/s was it? and do u think that had a bearing on any of the above factors?

1. by movies, and tv
2. a few years without any lessons
3. no
4. English, one of the easiest languages ever, easier then my native language (dutch)
Vintage V-100, EMG 81&60
Chapman ML-1

Jet City JCA20H