hayz_182
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2005
433 IQ
#1
hey i've got a marshall jvm410 half stack, just wondering if its too big to record with as far as getting pro quality productions?
A Certain Death
Certified Moron.
Join date: Nov 2008
98 IQ
#3
it'll be fine.
but for best results, try to get a direct line in from your head to a mixer/recording unit.
Martindecorum
Registered User
Join date: Dec 2006
634 IQ
#4
Quote by A Certain Death
it'll be fine.
but for best results, try to get a direct line in from your head to a mixer/recording unit.


for even better dual record line in and mic at the same time its get this awesome dynamic tone
doive
Maths + Science expert
Join date: Oct 2005
1,552 IQ
#5
Quote by Martindecorum
for even better dual record line in and mic at the same time its get this awesome dynamic tone

this, careful about where you place your mic in front of it too, have a fiddle around and see what sounds best to you, but for a 4x10 i would pick speaker and go slightly off centre from that rather than straight down the middle of the cab or a single speaker
The only 6 words that can make you a better guitarist:

Learn theory
Practice better
Practice more
hayz_182
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2005
433 IQ
#6
Doesn't going direct line in bipass the speaker and therefore lose a lot of the quality tone?
NOSPI
Registered User
Join date: Dec 2006
77 IQ
#7
Quote by hayz_182
Doesn't going direct line in bipass the speaker and therefore lose a lot of the quality tone?


Yeah, i don't get why people record direct from the amp line out to the interface/mixer. I've done this when recording from my amp (Randal RG40R) with distortion and it sounds terrible. Absolutely nothing like the sound of the amp, and its just all fuzzy.

I close mic my amp with a Shure SM58 and im happy with the results, because i know i won't get a perfect professional sound.
fridge_raider
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2003
527 IQ
#8
Quote by A Certain Death
it'll be fine.
but for best results, try to get a direct line in from your head to a mixer/recording unit.



Were you being serious?
There is poetry in despair.
timbit2006
DEATH THRASH!
Join date: Jan 2009
3,299 IQ
#9
Quote by fridge_raider
Were you being serious?


Judging by all the posts after his... I believe he was.

@A Certain Death
MEGA

That is the crappiest advice I heard all day!(I just woke up though)
For best results, I suggest micing it. You will have to experiment with the positins to get your desired sound. Just, /whatever you do... Do not put the mic more than 6 inches away, unless you want the mic to pick up everything else in the room. You can do this if you have your room acoustically treated.
DISPLACED
willieturnip
UG Addict
Join date: Apr 2008
1,147 IQ
#10
Is this question even serious?
Epiphone Elitist SG (Serious)
Tokai Silver Star
Epiphone Dot
Epiphone Les Paul
Washburn J28SCEDL
Washburn J12S

G.A.S List

JCM600 (Yes a 600..)
timbit2006
DEATH THRASH!
Join date: Jan 2009
3,299 IQ
#11
Quote by willieturnip
Is this question even serious?


Sadly... I think this question is serious.
It's the dumbest question I've heard in a while. and, The Line-In better than micing is the dumbest answer I heard in a while.
As the old saying goes
"A dumb question gets a dumb answer"

TS, Just in case no one has answered(sorry if anyone has)
No amp is to big to be mic'd.
You could mic a wall of sound if you wanted to. You'd just need lots of mics.
The only reason why they make small tube amps now, is because people want to get the sweet sound they get from a tube amp, without the noise when recording.
Imagine having to play a really high-pitched lead track over and over, at full blast on the amp. It'd give you a headache by the time your done.
DISPLACED
hayz_182
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2005
433 IQ
#12
Haha, the reason I asked the question is because a lot of people seem to think that to get a half stack to sound its best you have to crank it up, but i'm pretty sure the tone is just as good a decent volumes.... and I think I will be micing it with one shure sm57 and also a Rhode NT1A, expecting pretty sweet results from what my engineer friend has told me....
brownsfan456
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2008
1,122 IQ
#14
If your just doing one or two mics for the whole band then make sure it doesnt overpower everything else. If your recording individually though or with multiple mics you should be fine
Epiphone Les Paul Ultra II(
"Epicaster" pimped out strat
Fender Blues Jr.
DeltaLab RD1 Rock distortion
Barber handmade USA Direct Drive Overdrive
DeltaLab Stereo chorus
MXR 6 band EQ
hayz_182
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2005
433 IQ
#15
yer i'm doing individually. drums i'm just using an electric kit.
timbit2006
DEATH THRASH!
Join date: Jan 2009
3,299 IQ
#16
Quote by hayz_182
Haha, the reason I asked the question is because a lot of people seem to think that to get a half stack to sound its best you have to crank it up, but i'm pretty sure the tone is just as good a decent volumes.... and I think I will be micing it with one shure sm57 and also a Rhode NT1A, expecting pretty sweet results from what my engineer friend has told me....


really, you only need to crank a tube amp.
When people say that you need to crank your amp to make it sound good, they're referring to tubes.
Digital will stay Digital no matter how loud it is, unless you've got a tube simulator.

I checked to see if your amp had tubes, and I'm not sure... Something about valves though. Generally, when somethings a tube amp, Its says so in the name. So, I would say it isn't, but you can check. I'm not sure. This is just what I got from the web.
DISPLACED
Kid_Thorazine
Registered Sadist
Join date: Jul 2004
267 IQ
#18
you can record fine with a halfstack, although IMO it's a bit of a pain in the ass. I would suggest micing the cab over DIing (although ideally you will have a setup where you can do both so you have a clean signal for reamping)
make Industrial and/or experimental electronic music? Join my group!

Last.fm
timbit2006
DEATH THRASH!
Join date: Jan 2009
3,299 IQ
#19
Quote by fridge_raider
Valves are tubes, you 'tard


I figured that out like 2 mins after I posted it. I searched google images, then I thought... hmm, valves look awefully close to tubes...
DISPLACED