Hey guys! im looking to build a "little gem" amp from runoffgroove.com (http://www.runoffgroove.com/littlegem.html)

this is the bill of materials (http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/pdf/ggg_little_gem_bom.pdf?phpMyAdmin=4a28f86a515b7883e7bc35a68d4e7b6d)

let me just say i have never built anything before. this is my first amp build.

so according to the BOM, R3 needs to be a 25 ohm rheostat pot. now i have bought everything else i need, excluding speakers, ill talk about that in a sec. my problem is that i cant find a rheostat pot. the shops tell me they dont make them anymore or something. so is there an alternative i can use in the place of the rheostat?

2nd problem.

refer to first image in (http://www.runoffgroove.com/littlegem.html)

i dont know how i can connect to speakers. if i just use speaker wires, what ohm speakers should i use? i also want flexibility to use with a cab. but i dont know how to make a 1/4 inch jack thing. T_T

i have more questions to come.

thanks in advance everyone!!!
Last edited by Luxifer at Jun 25, 2009,
you can find the rheostat at radioshack, and use this for figuring out how to connect the speaker but I'd use the runoffgroove one to base your layout off of still.

Call me Dom
Quote by Dmaj7
I don't know how to count canadians, the metric system is hard

Quote by gregs1020
well if lbj pokes his head in here and there's no nuts shit's gonna go doooooooowwwwwwwwwn.

{Pedalboard Thread Native: The Muffin Man}
just look for a 25 ohm potentiometer. Should be easy enough to find. If you're local places really turn out to be that anal about it, just look online. Mouser.com and digikey.com are both good websites to find everything you need on, but there shipping is a touch expensive to justify ordering just one or two things. They also have every variation of everything on them, which means it's easy for someone who doesn't know exactly what they want to get lost.