I like to play classic rock, some hard rock, van halen, guns n roses, i have a fat strat listed below. is that the best thing for classic rock? it was my first guitar so it wasnt gonna be fancy. do humbuckers really sound much different than single coils? i dont know im new to electric guitars and guitars themselves. what are humbuckers for? thanks for answering my noob questions.
Gear
Fender MIM hss strat 1997
Marshall Class 5
Line 6 Floor Pod Plus
OCD drive

I love classic rock.
i'm sure single coils will be good for classic rock as well, but you cant go wrong with fat strat for such stuff
humbuckers have magnets that negate the feedback that comes from single coils and helps control feedback. It also tends to give a fuller tone and better distorted tone. They were originally made to 'buck' the 'hum' of feedback from single coils.

Humbuckers work for every genre but sometimes the single coils are better choices because they pick up every little movement of the strings and let it sound instead of humbuckers which are less sensitive to what it sounds.
ok thanks. can u replace a humbucker with a single coil or will there be a big gap?
Gear
Fender MIM hss strat 1997
Marshall Class 5
Line 6 Floor Pod Plus
OCD drive

I love classic rock.
Yea itll work, honestly HSS are not my favorite i prefer one humbucker guitar and one sss strat but hey whatever works for ya.
Epiphone Les Paul Ultra II(
"Epicaster" pimped out strat
Fender Blues Jr.
DeltaLab RD1 Rock distortion
Barber handmade USA Direct Drive Overdrive
DeltaLab Stereo chorus
MXR 6 band EQ
Quote by srob7001
Only you can tell us if you got the right guitar for you.

this^

I personally prefer single coils in every musical situation except for tuning low and using a lot of distortion.

Strats are very versatile and work for almost everything. You shouldnt be disappointed