I just got Mixcraft 4.5 because it was recommended as a good alternative to Garageband, and It's MIDI accessible. From what I understood, you could just plug into a computer and record. For instance, I know a guy who has the Cakewalk software, and he just plugs into his amp which is plugged into his computer, and he starts recording stuff. Is this MIDI? What sort of stuff do I need to plug my amp into the computer if my idea of MIDI is correct?
thats not MIDI at all

what you looking for is a recording interface
the most poular i think are
presonus
mackie onyx
line 6 pod

you have to wiki it or google it
im not very good at a explaining but i try to explain what midi is
lets say u get a keyboard that is midi and you plug it into the computer the keyboard sends like a signal when you press the key and you can change what the key does like drums,trumpets,guitar it can imitate other instruments but not to the extend of dynamics like how loud how soft the scratching of strings basically the human effect on instrument
my guitar stuff:
ESP JH-600
ValveKing 112
DigiTech Whammy Pedal
Taylor 314CE
Dunlop SW-95 Slash Wah Pedal
Cordoba C7 Nylon String Acoustic Guitar
Metal muff
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster Ash
midi signals are basically triggers. a midi signal triggers sound..however alone, they make no sound. this is why it is so advantageous to record keyboards with midi. you can keep your "triggers" but you can change the sound to whatever you want after the fact. lets say you play a c. with midi, the trigger will be on c. it is then up to you to choose the sound you want to play. mixcraft will NOT do this for you. it will only record the midi triggers. you need a program such as reason or fl studio to do this. i reccomment using reason becasue it is far and beyond the most versitile midi software on the market. does this help?
its what most electric keyboards use, also i beleave it what the guitar pro and power tabs sounds come from
Quote by travs2448