So I've been playing for about two years and I wanted to make it a point not to start blowing cash on pedals or gear until I felt I had reached a point in my playing that I "deserved" them, so to say.

I wouldn't say I'm too big on effects, I guess I'm looking for the "primary colors" of a guitarist's pedal set - I already read the ultimate wah thread and I think I'm going to go for a Vox 847a as it seems to fit my style best. I tend to play a lot of blues/jazz/prog rock/classic rock, so while I don't mind metal I'm not looking for that tone or sound.

What else should I consider?

Thanks for your thoughts and comments guys.

EDIT: I don't know if this helps, but my biggest influences would have to be David Gilmour, SRV, John Frusc, Mike Einziger, and Tom Morello. Pat Martino too, but he is a bit too clean to be on this list when I'm trying to look for pedal recommendations )
Last edited by moonlightdrive at Jun 25, 2009,
Do you have a proper amp? No need to get into pedals until you have the core covered.
^Agreed. Check out Damage Control pedals. I hear the Demonizer is supposed to be a great pedal.
there are a lot of guitarists that really really like the plug-and-play of just going strait into your amp

thats all i have to say on this, as my idea of tone is very, very metal
"If you're looking for me,
you better check under the sea,
because that's where you'll find me..."
if you have a tube amp, a boost pedal/od can be useful to your tone
wah is essential to many
delay if you wish to expand your sonic atmosphere
chorus for big, beautiful clean tones

these are the only ones i'd ever buy/use
Quote by AA00P
Listen to the man, he's Jewish.
some kind of reverb, chorus. distortion/overdrive(depending on amp), delay, and wah pedal.
MM Stingray
MIA P Bass
MIM Jazz Bass
GK 700RB-II Head
GK 410SBX Cab
Sansamp 3 Ch. DI
Crybaby Bass Wah
Bass Big Muff
DD3 Delay

MIA Strat
Nashville Tele
Martin 00015M
Hot Rod Deluxe
Big Muff
DS1
Hendrix Crybaby Wah
Quote by Blaster Bob