Page 1 of 2
So i play metal with a band i'm in, and the guitarist wants me to palm mute a lot of the stuff like the guitars do. Which i've never done before. It just doesn't seem like i should, plus i'm too lazy. And i usually play with my fingers, so that means i'd have to learn to play with a pick.. Yay..
So do bassist (metal bassists at that) palm mute? Or is that just a guitar thing.
Plus, is there a sufficient way to palm mute with your fingers?
Screw him, don't palm mute unless you're planning on using a pick. Some bassists do it with a pick (Jason Newsted) but it doesn't seem to fit in bass like in guitar.
wtf, does the guitarist know what he's talking about. Bassists don't palm mute, i tried it a couple times sounds like crap. Think like a bassist not like a guitarist.
I'm not the expert of bassists, but I've known some local bands to palm mute the bass. I've tried it myself and it's certainly not a bad idea. As for muting playing with your fingers, I'm not sure there's any way to efficiently do so.
There are some bassists that mute. And I've seen a few that put a piece of foam between the bridge and bridge pup to give a constant palm muting sound.

Personally, I think it only works for guitar.
There's VERY few places in a song that it'll work for bass.
Tell your guitarist that just because you can palm mute and get a chugging sound on guitar, the bass doesn't have to follow that, nor will it sound good.

If you do decide to, since you play with your fingers, I recommend the foam idea.
If you try and palm mute finger style, your hand will cramp relatively fast.
I'm sure bassists never palm mute.. only kind of if they're doing slap bass o.O.. I don't know... But I lose respect for bassists when they use picks. If they use them all the time at least. :P
Most people on UG aren't very nice.

That is my signature.

This is true.
Thank you!