I'm new to amps with FX loops and right now I'm looking at two different amps (Vypyr tube and Valveking). One has an FX loop and the other doesn't. I have a Digitech Whammy, a DD-5 and a Crybaby.

I'm wondering, will my pedals through the FX loop in the Valveking sound better than connected in series in the Vypyr? If so, how much better and whats the tonal difference?
Ibanez RGT42DX
Vox AC30C2
Digitech Whammy (FOR SALE!)
Dunlop GCB-95F Crybaby
Boss DD-20
Boss SD-1
Ibanez TS9DX
MXR M-108 10 Band EQ
do you know what the preamp and poweramp are? if not, read the stickies. the FX loop is when effects are placed in between the preamp and the poweramp. the FX send goes out from the preamp and into your pedals that you want to place in the loop, and the output from those pedals goes into the FX return, which goes into the poweramp
periphery/bulb!

gear:
Ibanez RG7321 w/ D-sonic in bridge

Peavey 5150 mk ii & b52 4x12 cab

line 6 podxt for recording

Quote by AsOneIStand
Head and Cab for $130? You don't need a head and cabinet, you need a psychological examination.
Quote by nutinpwnsgibson
do you know what the preamp and poweramp are? if not, read the stickies. the FX loop is when effects are placed in between the preamp and the poweramp. the FX send goes out from the preamp and into your pedals that you want to place in the loop, and the output from those pedals goes into the FX return, which goes into the poweramp

Yes, I know what they are and how the loop works. What I don't know, though, is how the sound differs from when effects are in the loop (after the preamp) or not in the loop (before the preamp).
Ibanez RGT42DX
Vox AC30C2
Dunlop GCB-95F Crybaby
Boss DD-20
Boss SD-1
Ibanez TS9DX
MXR M-108 10 Band EQ
time based effects such as delay and reverb sound better through an effects loop. it stops them from getting distorted by the gain from the pre-amp, which is not really what you want with something like reverb, because it just makes it sound a mess.