Hello everyone. I've been playing electric guitar for around 4 years now. About 6 months ago, I decided to buy an acoustic guitar to put in my room near my bed so I can just kinda play whenever I feel like it, without having to hook up pedals, cables, amps, etc. I bought some sort of Epiphone AJ model, in a sunburst color. I can't find the exact model on Guitarcenter.com, but that doesn't matter. It cost me around $200. not the best guitar, I know, but for a bedroom teenager on a budget it's perfect.

Anyways, I went to put a new set of strings on the guitar last week. I hadn't broke any, but the stock ones were getting old. Anyways, I know how to go about changing the strings; pop the pin, slide new string in, pop in the pin, etc. However, right off the bat I ran into problems. I could not, for the life of me, get any of the pins out. I finally had to take a pair of pliers and basically screw them off.

My next problem came when I was trying to put the new strings in. I would put the string in the hole, and position the pins in. However, the second I started to tighten the string, the pin started to get looser and looser until finally it would pop out. This happened for every string I tried to put on. Finally, I took a hammer and literally banged on the pins to get them in the guitar tightly. In the process, however, a knot had developed in my G string, from me trying to put it on so many times. I didn't see the knot, and abruptly I broke the string when I went to tighten it. I tuned the rest of the strings up anyways, just to make sure they all worked fine. All the strings worked fine, except for the low E string, which was literally de-tuning as I was playing.