+50 karma point for helping a noob.

I'm just beginning and REALLY want to start off on the right foot. Unfortunately I don't have the opportunity to take lessons formally nor the benefit of knowing a talented guitarist willing to sit down with me in the evenings. Therefore I'm looking for a DVD (plus books or whatever) type of instruction to learn. I'm older and can be very disciplined mentally and physically. I've been searching the internet for a solid DVD guitar method instruction recommendation but seem to come up with a lot of scam offers and faked reviews. Can anyone give me some real opinions?

Right now I'm looking at or have bought already:

Guitar Pro Software for Tabs (Ordered and Installed)
MVP Fretboard Physics for Guitar DVD - Volumes 1-6 Complete (May order this weekend)
Fretboard Logic Box Set Vol 1/2 SE Bk 3 DVD Bill Edward (Ordered but isn't here yet)

Learn and Master Guitar and website seems like a scam. They don't say really how long the lessons are or what is on the DVDs. Plus the review sites seem like they set them up.

I'm playing a Gibson Les Paul Studio Faded w/ Fender G-Dec 30. I love them so far but the G-Dec doesn't have the deep tone I would like later from a tube amp.
Im doing the Learn & Master guitar course and its certainly not a scam. If you want to learn music notation then I would highly recommend it.

Its got a pretty active forum full of people just like yourself and there’s lots of support from others doing the course. Im on lesson 3 out of 20 and I estimate it will take 12 months or more to complete the 20 lessons. You can download the course books for free to see what’s covered in the DVD sessions. I recommend checking out the L&M forums for more info

http://community.legacylearningsystems.com/boards/index.php