+50 karma point for helping a noob.

I'm just beginning and REALLY want to start off on the right foot. Unfortunately I don't have the opportunity to take lessons formally nor the benefit of knowing a talented guitarist willing to sit down with me in the evenings. Therefore I'm looking for a DVD (plus books or whatever) type of instruction to learn. I'm older and can be very disciplined mentally and physically. I've been searching the internet for a solid DVD guitar method instruction recommendation but seem to come up with a lot of scam offers and faked reviews. Can anyone give me some real opinions?

Right now I'm looking at or have bought already:

Guitar Pro Software for Tabs (Ordered and Installed)
MVP Fretboard Physics for Guitar DVD - Volumes 1-6 Complete (May order this weekend)
Fretboard Logic Box Set Vol 1/2 SE Bk 3 DVD Bill Edward (Ordered but isn't here yet)

Learn and Master Guitar and website seems like a scam. They don't say really how long the lessons are or what is on the DVDs. Plus the review sites seem like they set them up.

I'm playing a Gibson Les Paul Studio Faded w/ Fender G-Dec 30. I love them so far but the G-Dec doesn't have the deep tone I would like later from a tube amp.
i have many " guitar lessons dvd's and online lesson and after spending a few 100's $ of that stuff ....i can say they are worth about the same as what my dog leave on my lawn...
May be i got the wrong ones...but who know..

My all time NO #1 is guitar pro.... it has helped me so much.... guitar and bass,
the draw back to guitar pro (for me anyway ) is that it made guitar playing a visual thing insted of a "ear thing" make sence..??