Hey, I've been playing for a good 6 months.

The stuff I use is an
Epiphone SG-400
And a Line 6 Spider III Amp

And I like messing with the effects that the amp offers on board, but I want to go past that.
I've been looking online, and before I say anything else my budget is 150$.

I was looking around and I found this, which caught my eye.
http://www.guitarcenter.com/DigiTech-RP350-Guitar-Multi-Effects-Pedal-103952164-i1169084.gc

I also looked at the Line 6 Pod Pedal series, I just don't like how they restrain stuff like reverb and tape echo to the same knob and it limits a lot.

But I need some opinions on the Digitech I just saw.
Also one more question, say I blow my Amp.

Could I use that effects pedal or any that has a headphone jack and hear it? Or would I need an Amp always?
i have the exact same gear as you (with 15 watt spider 3) and i use a digitech rp90. they are good pedals. ive never had any problems with mine, and it is a good first pedal because it combines so many pedals for under the price of one pedal. i think you can use just the pedal with no amp. i think ive tried it before, but im not sure
I have a couple of Digitech pedals. My brother-in-law is a TV-Radio repairman, so he knows a good bit about electronics. I had him take a look at one of my pedals 'cause of a slight malfunction and he was impressed by the quality of the parts built into the pedal. He asked how much I paid for the pedal and then replied that it didn't leave much room for profit for Digitech.
In plainer speech: good price / value
Arguing on the Internet is a lot like being in the Special Olympics. Even if you win you're still retarded
I have the Rp250 good model range of effects that cater for alot, so it would be a good pick. One problem is the distortion effects aren't always great so don't rely on it for just drive. Otherwise good peddle and 350 can only get better.

The peddle should have a headphone jack as mine does so you can play without an amp.