I am new to heads and cabs, as i have owned combos my whole bass career. how do you know if a cab with work with a head? or the other way around? can you underpower/overpower a cab/head?

these might sound like stupid questions, but i need to know. lol.

-gary
cabs and heads are rated by wattage and by ohms. it's better to get a cabinet that is rated for all the watts you can afford - more headroom means less chance of blowing your speakers. a 1000 watt head with 2 500 watt cabs isn't a good idea - a 1000 watt head with 2 700 watt cabs is better. i use a 1000 watt head with 1 800 watt cab and a 600 watt cab.

your head will probably be rated for a certain amount of ohms - say 2. as i recall, 2 4-ohm speakers add up to 2 ohms or 4 8-ohm speakers. some heads allow you to switch to different ohm ratings.

your easiest option would be to get a stack that's sold as a unit. this way, you'll know that the head and cabs are matched.
Yes those two should be fine together
Quote by RevaM1ssP1ss
The 2 best colours EVER pitted against each other? No wai!

I voted lime.

Quote by SeveralSpecies
btw lime kicked ass

Member of the Bass Militia PM Nutter_101 to join
Team Lime Green!
Quote by patticake
a 1000 watt head with 2 500 watt cabs isn't a good idea

Why not? Using cabs rated at exactly what your head puts out is a wonderful idea, actually, but the more important thing to look after is the ohm rating. Plus, you're not gonna have to worry about cranking the amp to the point where the speakers might blow with a 1kW amp, but that's beside the point. Your post is mostly opinion, with other opinions being exactly opposite yours.
Millie, my Peavey Grind Fiver
Peavey BAM 210 350w combo amp
Sansamp Bass Driver DI
Modded Ernie Ball VP Jr.
Monster Bass Cable, 21'

Quote by NakedBassist
Welcome to bass, you'll f*cking love it
Last edited by t3hrav3n at Jun 28, 2009,