I'm looking to get a new amp, i currently have a Fender Frontman 15G which i got with my guitar when i first started playing. my friends and i are going to start up a band so i figured it would be a good time to get a new amp. My price range is about $300-$450. i havent really bought enough gear to say that i know what im looking for so does anybody have any suggestions on an amp for around that price range that i can play on by myself and with band mates? i primarily play Metal but i play anything from Classic Rock to Nu-metal like Led Zeppelin to Slipknot, but my main goal would be the Metal side of that. and if you dont know of any amps specifically, what brands are generaly of good quality around that price range. Like i said this is my first time looking to buy a new amp so if there are also better questions to ask or any other aspects that can help please fill me in. thanks in advance!
tube amp or would you settle for modeling

in terms of modeling get a vypyr
if you want tubes theres a huge range from which to choose from
but ive heard good things about bugera, blackstar, orange tiny terror, crate, those might be some good choices

if youre looking for brands than peavey makes real good amps from what ive tested and ad very decent prices
Last edited by glam rocker at Jun 27, 2009,
I would venture 50% of the threads here on "UG guitar gear" address your question. Go read some of them.
if possible, you should get a tube amp. most modelling amps you end up replacing anyway. but i guess the vypyr's are pretty good. if you go with a vypyr, then try this one.

http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Peavey-Vypyr-Tube-60-60W-1x12-Guitar-Tube-Amp?sku=482912#new

good luck.
"If A is a success in life, then A equals x + y + z. Work = x; y = play; and z = keeping your mouth shut."
--Einstein

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe."
--Einstein