I'm a real newb when it comes to amps, and I'm thinking of upgrading from my shitty practice amp so I'm looking for some help.

1. Is there a large difference in sound between valve and solid state? Which will hold a tone more strongly at a low volume?
2. What is pre-amp?
3. What are channels? Are they exclusive to only one type of amp? (Tube/solid)
4. As far as a new amp is concerned, I'm looking at something of about 30W, budget at about $300-700. As far as tone goes, I'm a fan of John Petrucci's, Steve vai's sort of tone, but I also like cleans a lot (I.e Between the buried and me, opeth).
5. What are some reputable brands?

[ For guitar, I've a HSS Strat, and I'm upgrading to an Ibanez RG when I get the money.]

Be nice
The will be heartache,
there will be rain,
and joy I can't explain.
Last edited by titsmcgee852 at Jun 28, 2009,
Well, sadly you picked 2 of the most expensive tones out there to want.

It's okay, I picked those 2 as well...

JP has a good 20000$ worth of crap, and the cheapest way to approximate it is an axe-fx.

If you wantmore steve vai'ish, then look into a cheap tube amp, a nice delay, and a keeley modded DS-1.
Well. Not specifically JP or SV, but something along those lines or near to.
The will be heartache,
there will be rain,
and joy I can't explain.
Quote by titsmcgee852
I'm a real newb when it comes to amps, and I'm thinking of upgrading from my shitty practice amp so I'm looking for some help.

1. Is there a large difference in sound between valve and solid state? Which will hold a tone more strongly at a low volume?
2. What is pre-amp?
3. What are channels? Are they exclusive to only one type of amp? (Tube/solid)
4. As far as a new amp is concerned, I'm looking at something of about 30W, budget at about $300-700. As far as tone goes, I'm a fan of John Petrucci's, Steve vai's sort of tone, but I also like cleans a lot (I.e Between the buried and me, opeth).
5. What are some reputable brands?