im planning on buying a b-52 AT-112, and i plan on using the high gain channel quite extensively . however, i really don't like my stuff to be any louder then it needs to be, so i think i should get an attentuator. i will be playing only in my bedroom, and my bedroom is quite small. i will likely be less then 3 feet away from the amp.

http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/B52-60Watt-1x12-Tube-Combo?sku=480046#new (amp)
http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/THD-Hot-Plate-Attenuator?sku=481283#new (attentuator)

however, i am a noob at this; i have 0 experience with tube amps and attentuators, so i want to ask if a combo can even be used with an attentuator. i saw one review that said "if you have a head"..., and this amp is a combo, so its making me think attentuators can only be used with a head/cab. also, i wouldn't know what one (ohm rating) to get for the b-52, assuming they could even work together.

my guess right now is that the two are not compatible

if they aren't compatible, can anyone give me any alternate suggestions? perhaps a way i can lower the volume, or another amp suggestion?

really, my budget is 1200$. BUT I DO NOT want to spend ALL of it. right now, with the amp, attentuator, and isp decimator in my cart, my total is a little over 800$. please make sure any suggestions are close to this total.
it'll work fine, you might need to get a couple of speaker cables to run it though.
Quote by kcdakrt
DLrocket89 makes my ug experience better!

Member of the official GB&C "Who to Listen to" list

Kit Amp Building Tutorial
I recommend trying the amp first and see if you even need an attenuator.

I really only think attenuators are useful for those old Marshall and Fender amps which need to be turned up for their characteristic tone. Otherwise, attenuating a high wattage amplifier so that you can crank it and play at bedroom volumes sounds no better than just playing the amp volume on 1 or 2.
Quote by al112987