Hi!

For about 8 months or so i started playing guitar on a 150$. I'm starting to feel its limitations in terms of tone and playability and i would really like to upgrade. 90% of my playing is fingerstyle so i'd like to buy a fingerstyle focused guitar. My budget would be up to 500$. I dont care about electronics or any fancy stuff. Just want to get a straight dreadnought with the best quality within this price.

What would be your recommendations?
Usually dreadnoughts are not used for fingerstyle

Some people does, but most people would go for a jumbo shape.
Noooo, Jumbo is not good for fingerstyle, Many people use 000/auditorium size guitar. I'd highly recommend trying out Martin 000x1, has HPL back and sides but sounds beautiful, i have one, or a used Epiphone Masterbilt,

you could also use parlor sized guitars which makes fingerpickign very easy.. Art and Luthier AMI, Seagull Grand Coastline, Takamine G406s.. Republic PR-1
Depending on what type of playing you're looking for. I use a nylon guitar and I personally think those are best for fingerstyle because of the wider space between the strings. They also give you a good mellow tone or you could play closer to the bridge for a more solid sound. But like I said, it depends on what you play. If you're gonna be fingerpicking fast scales, I'd recommend a nylon guitar. If you're gonna play more simple songs, dust in the wind, yes, stick to steel string.
Quote by ILLcoyote
If you're gonna be fingerpicking fast scales, I'd recommend a nylon guitar.

Care to elaborate on the reasons?
This space foreclosed, due to the ailing economy.
For those of you saying certain styles are not "used in fingerstyle", please be aware that it's all personal preference and no body style sounds "better" than others for fingerstyle.

For example, John Butler plays dreadnoughts (and 12-string at that), and, well:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6VAkOhXIsI0