Hey guys.
I'm kinda' worried about something. I play guitar, but I'm currently self taught. I would like to learn theory and scales so I can improvise, but with the few scales I know, I'm pretty bad at improvising at the moment. So my problem is getting a new guitar.

I heard that you should always try a guitar out before you buy, but I wouldn't know exactly how to try it out. I see dudes in guitar shops testing guitars just improvising, and it sounds awesome. But I can't do that. So if I picked up a guitar and started playing, it would be like '=/ what should I play?' Plus, over here in England, the shop workers watch like everything you do, and it's a pretty tense atmosphere. So the worker would probably think I'm not good enough for a new guitar.

So I've thought of some options. I could either get lessons over the summer, and hope I have a basic knowledge of scales so I could kinda' improvise (cos' I would only be getting a new guitar at Christmas).

Or I could go and just play loadsa' things that I already know, but I would soon run out of what to play.

What do you guys think?
Quote by firestarter12
does any1 know where I can get a fender les paul? i always only see 1 or the other but i want one thats both.

Well, you should practise improving, and learn some songs. And when you try out a guitar play some songs.
Skip the username, call me Billy
I'd suggest you learn different sounding songs which will put the guitar to a test ,not your honour. Learn songs from genres you like,no need to show off in front of a shop assistant. No need to play scales or to improvise just go and play what you play home. Try palm muting,pinch harmonics, switching from neck to bridge PUPs etc the tone options ,the guitar on distortion and stuff like that
I've been playing for 18 months now, and I still don't understand how I would even begin to improvise. =[
"When words fail, music speaks"

Gamertag - Acoustickk

Call me Vincent
most people just play whatever.