The current guitar I have at the moment is a Squire Strat bought when I started learning.

Now I've gotten better, I realise that the Squire isn't really cutting it sound wise.

I'm looking for a guitar that will cost £400 max ($661).

It's mostly going to be home practising through a Vox VT15 however I'd like it to be gig able. I listen and play to mostly Pop Punk-Alternative Rock -Rock.

I was wondering what you recommended. . I've already looked into an Epiphone G400, PRS SE Custom, Fender HSS. Hopefully I'm going to go down the shop and try some guitars out soon.
Well, if you're into Epiphone, maybe you should consider an ES model. They sound great and look awesome. But the SG is also good. The G-400 is cool and sounds nice. Or you could buy a strat, but forget the HSS. Go for the SSS.
i got an epi les paul standard plus top for that price, it plays and sounds great!!!!
and in terms of gigability, its the same guitar as the guitarist from less than jake uses live, nuff said really!
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
Fender 300CE T-Bucket
Dean DOF ML [For Sale]
Marshall AVT 2000 valvestate
Ibanez modified turbo tube screamer
Digitech RP250
I have an Ibanez Rg350dx and think that it is one of the best guitars around its about £300 and has such a great sound both on clean and ovedrive i think it is definatly worth considering
The rg 350 dx is REALLY good. I have one, and my only complaint is... that I'm not smart enough to deal with a floyd rose style bridge.
i'd recommend the G-400 custom, great guitar had mine years and i still love it. Other than that Tokai do a good SG in this price range and i have heard good things about Agile SG's, they are called Valkyrie's or something i think.

Schetcher Tempest's are good as well, i have one and it can play pretty much anything do to the coil-tap.
Last edited by Road Eyes at Jun 29, 2009,