About two years ago, I suddenly became quite interested in modifying my very old Fender Squier Strat. I imagined it as a personal, fun job to undertake, where the the old guitar that seemed to constantly cut out as the volume knob was turned, and sounded like a bottle of sugary, shaken up coco-cola being opened would be replaced with a piece of glorious shit.

So I enquired about it, asked UG and talked to guitar sales-reps, etc. Most folks I spoke to all suggested that I just save up and buy a real MIA Strat, but to be honest, I don't want to do that. Not only can I get a far superior guitar for the same amount of money, but I don't even like Strats enough to warrant spending that kind of cash.

So I forgot about it, buying and edited gear I was confident with. But two years later (two months ago) I started playing my old Squier again and I found myself really enjoying it. It didn't cut out as regularly as it used to, and because my physical body mass had grown (I'm not fat ) the Strat shape felt more comfortable and honest on my lap and on a strap. The neck seemed more comfortable than the 2008 MIA Strats I had played, which I don't really like at all...

and I'm back at square one, except I do not want to buy a real Strat. I only want to spend €400 on this.

I would like new pick-ups (single coils x3), a new bridge as the standard saddle with the protruding screw edges have cut me on many occasions (that is not essential), new tuning heads, and possibly a new nut as the stability is poor. And finally, new wiring and new pots.

-I've read that Lace make lovely single-coil pick-ups and are worth researching.
-In terms of bridges, I'm totally in the dark here. I don't know what could replace it.
-Tuning heads are not specific; I just want sturdy tuning.
-Wiring and pots are easy enough for me to purchase, but if people have a few great ideas let me know.

Thanks all.