Hey I'm Pete!

I currently own a copy of a Gibson SG. It's pretty crappy but it has good memories for me and I've been playing it for a good 4 years now. I think the time has come to get a new guitar suited to the style of music that I like.

I currently play post hardcore and metal stuff like Dance Gavin Dance, Fall of Troy, August Burns Red, Parkway Drive etc... I wondered if any of you guys could recommend a good metal guitar for me?

I think perhaps an Ibanez might be good but I'm not sure which exactly. As it's probably clear, I don't know a lot about guitars at all and I need to become better but it's time I got a beautiful guitar suited to the style of music I like.

Looking forward to some suggestions, thanks in advance!
Well, it all depends on how much you're willing to spend and if you want amp etc.

I don't know a lot about metal but i know ESP (higher end ones) and Ibanez make some good guitars for that type of stuff. Stratocasters are good for pretty much anything as well, if you want the versatility.
Posted from Ubuntu.

Squier Precision Bass Special in Antique Burst (LH)
Rotosound Swing 66s, 45-105

On slapping on a bass:
Quote by supersac
pretend its a woman
i have no helpful advice

i got an esp ec-1000 and its pretty metal. forget ibanez, jacksons are better unless your grabbing a jem
Hmm Well I'm willing to spend a good £300-400 on a guitar and I do love the way Ibanez guitars look. I just get a bit confused when I go to their site and they all filter out into different models that all look the same?

As for an amp, I've got an oldish Peavey amp which has seen better days.. I can only really get a half decent sound out of it by running a death metal pedal to it. I would be happy spending money on a guitar first then looking at amps once I've improved a bit more

Is that any use?
Quote by cainmd
i got an esp ec-1000 and its pretty metal. forget ibanez, jacksons are better unless your grabbing a jem

forget ibanez? don't listen to this guy.