Hi everyone in UG!

I desperately need some advice to get my first bass guitar

Ok, I'm a really mediocre guitar player, been only playing for about a few months and started pretty late you could say and bass guitar has really caught my attention because of the tunes that it can play and after some research i finally realise its true potential as a bass in a band.

Now I'm willing to spend about £200-£250, so my question is

1. Should I get a starter pack (bass , amps etc all in one) or buy individually? What kind of starter pack/individual euipment should I go for as I am only a beginner.
2. Should I buy from the internet or from the local store?
3. FYI, I love bassline from Motowns eg James Jamerson to J-Rock eg bassist from Aqua timez, what kind of bass should I look for if I want sounds like that or tone? Or I shouldn't even bother because I'm a newbie
4. Is £200-£250 a little too much to spent on a newbie?

Please don't be afraid to correct me or you want to add a little info because I'm seriously new at this and i don't even know what I'm looking for so I might miss out on some important question, please add to it

I'm really serious in getting a bass and I don't want to look like a fool and being play about by the shop keeper, so I hope you guys could help me out and I'm more than willing to give more info.

Oh btw, there's no one here in my place that could help me test out bass guitar if we were to go to the local store to test run the guitar, i just moved to a new place, so this option is definitely out, I'm on my own. hence the reason why i wanted to buy online but opinions are welcomed, im still open for suggestions

Thanks alot
Well, a Squier beginner pack is good. I've even seen some interesting Laguna ones.

But, if you want to go individual, a Fender J or P bass would be great depending on what you like. From what you've said, I would suggest a Fender J-Bass. Any cheap practice amp will do for a while, a tuner is good, but that's about it.