My problem with live sound engineers as a guitarist is that they will fight with you for stage volume, meaning they want as little volume from your guitar amp as possible.

This wouldn't be a problem except that I am a sensible guitarist who has had experience playing with a band and I know my sound levels and what constitutes as "too loud".

For example, I was playing on stage in a situation where the engineer was adjusting my amp volume. Do you know that thing with solid state amps, that setting between 0 and 1 that you get sound out of the amp but it doesn't sound like the power amp is actually on, just a preamp, tube fuzz sound? He miked that sound at one of my gigs and it was awful.

Ever since then I vowed to use a single volume 5 watt amp through a 4x12. I turn the amp up loud enough for distortion and if the tech told me to turn it down I would explain that there is only one volume knob and that is how I get my distortion. It has worked great so far and my amp has been loud enough that the mic in front of it picks up the sound perfectly.

I cannot believe some of the bozos some clubs hire as sound guys.
"teh most gains"
Perhaps they perceive the acoustics of an auditorium or room differently? What you hear onstage is not what you hear in the audience.
Sound engineers just like to be in complete control of everything. If you have no sound coming out of your amp (or almost no sound) then that means that you cant really be heard in the house without their PA. Which makes them 100% in control. Which is also retarded
You guys are incorrect. There is a reason they are live sound engineers and you're not. They should have 100% control because they catering to the crowd, and not the guitarist's ego. Ask for louder guitar in your monitor if you need to complain.
Quote by allislost
I would say that aetherspear speaks nothing but the truth.
UG Blues Group
UG Reggae & Dub Group
Need Professional Mixing for cheap? Need Vinyl to Digital Transfers? PM Me.