So I have been playing guitar for about 5 years now and I have some skill. I am board with main stream rock and country that I play and I want to venture into the classical and flamenco side of guitar. I do not have a lot of money to spend so I can not but a new guitar. My question is could I just buy a set of nylon strings and put them on my acoustic guitar? I know you cannot put steel on a nylon guitar because of the pressure of the strings, but, would there be any drawbacks with nylon on mine?
I could have sworn that Nylon strings are not long enough to fit on a regular steel string guitar.

Apart from that maybe there would be too much pressure on the Nylon strings and they would break easily?
would they produce the right sound from a steel string guitars body?

Maybe you should buy a cheap Nylon string, just to learn and practice on?
i think the problem would be actually stringing the guitar
Quote by Eminored
Hentai. It's a completely different world that will rip your eye-sockets and and skull-screw you with its tentacles.
It wouldn't work well at all. It technically would not damage your acoustic, but it would be a waste of strings because regular acoustics have more bracing than classical guitars, which would make it so that the nylon strings would produce hardly any volume. I don't mean it would be soft, I mean the sound would be almost like plucking a rubber band. Don't waste money on it unless you actually have a classical guitar.

Also, just for future information...don't put steel strings on a classical-nylon guitar either. Steel strings put way too much pressure on a nylon string guitar and will literally cause the neck to snap off.
Composer of Scores for Film/Video Games/TV/and More!
Contact me if you have a project that you need music of any style for!
Last edited by ReChord at Jul 2, 2009,
No, don't even try it.