Page 1 of 2
i have been playin guitar for 4 yrs i am currently the lead guitarist and vocalist for a locally sucessful band but have never taken any time to learn theory. this was'nt a problem until recently. i am totally self taught and can write some pretty good music and solos but i don't understand y it sounds good. this is a problem b/c i was jamming wit a friend n he likes 2 call chords A and F and same thing wit notes. needless to say i felt like a idiot any advice.
Learning theory will make you a batter musician, if you want to be a better musician, learn theory.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
Theory is descriptive, not prescriptive.

Quote by MiKe Hendryckz
theory states 1+1=2 sometimes in music 1+1=3.
Learning music theory isn't essential. However its benefits are numerous, and for you it would solve the problem of communicating with your bandmates. Knowing music theory will allow you to speak the "official language" of music, not just dialects.

The stickies at the top of the forum will provide you with enough information to keep you busy for a while, so start there.
You need to know theory like an accountant needs to know algebra. If music is what you do, music theory is hown you do it. When somebody says play an A and you have to have that explained to you, that'd be like a mechanic having to ask where the transmission is... everytime.

How one manages to play for four years and not even learn notes astonishes me.
like i said i don't no any note names or really anything offical all those websites like 2 call the notes by letters n im lost is there like theory 4 dummies
Quote by Kapalen
You need to know theory like an accountant needs to know algebra. If music is what you do, music theory is hown you do it. When somebody says play an A and you have to have that explained to you, that'd be like a mechanic having to ask where the transmission is... everytime.

How one manages to play for four years and not even learn notes astonishes me.