Hi All,

First of all I am sorry if this is the wrong forum for the topic, feel free to move it where appropriate.

I`m 22 years old and am really into guitars, heavy metal, hard rock and stuff. I really want to learn to play the electric guitar. However I don't know anything about music, notes, stuff etc. Do you think that is going to be a problem? And what kind of guitar would you suggest for a absolute beginner like me? I saw the Fender and Gibson copies Squier and Epiphone, I also saw some reviews and stuff. I`ll be looking for something cheap for starters, lets say 250-350 euros (~$500). Forgot to mention that I`m lefthanded - would this be a problem? Any advices and comments would be highly appreciated.

Thanks a lot in advance, I`m looking forward to hearing from you guys!

Cheers,
Vik
Lots of guitarist don't know sh*t about theory.
funkyducky

Icing happen when de puck come down, BANG, you know,
before de oder guys, nobody dere, you know.
My arm go comme ça, den de game stop den start up.

Quote by daytripper75
Get To Da Choppa!
This is the wrong forum section.

In response, do you think everyone is born with musical knowledge? No, so not knowing isn't gonna hold you back, all gotta start somewhere.
Not knowing theory isn't going to prevent you from playing, but knowing theory helps you understand what you are actually playing and how it all fits together.

EDIT: And also, there are better guitars for the price than squiers, though epiphones aren't that bad
Last edited by halvies at Jul 3, 2009,
Every musician starts without musical knowledge...
It wouldn't be a problem, learn to read tabs and you're off...
Gear:
Fender Jazzmaster
Boss DS-2
Digitech RP150 (with Line6 EX-1 Exp pedal)
Orange Crush 30R

My Youtube Page
Read this!You know you really want to...

My advice would be to learn music theory and notation. It will definately help. However, you don't absolutely need it.
Quote by Stormx
I tremble before your enormous penis.
Quote by molala2