Page 1 of 2
ok so my buddy is self taught and he has been playing for 2 months he is 13, he can already play eruption and hot for teacher by van halen, the fullsong not little pieces of it, anyways he keeps on saying that he sucks at guitar, so guys is he good at guitar or not?
Last edited by notgoodbutslow at Jul 3, 2009,
Oh cause we can totally judge him by what you say.

Give me a video and I'd be glad to criticize him

And yeah, he cannot play eruption. Just because he can slide down to and open A chord and play the tapping start of the song does not mean he can play eruption.

If I had a penny for everytime I've heard that... "I can play eruption!" and they just do that first little tapping part that doesn't change or anything
"The future's uncertain, and The End is always near."
-Jim Morrison
Last edited by SlinkyBlue at Jul 3, 2009,
When he learns to play the entire song, then judge
The content of this signature is pretty much irrelevant
Somehow I doubt he can play either of those songs with any level of proficiency past that of a noob.
E-peen:
Rhodes Gemini
Fryette Ultra Lead
Peavey 6505
THD Flexi 50

Gibson R0 Prototype
EBMM JP13 Rosewood
Fender CS Mary Kaye

WTLT

(512) Audio Engineering - Custom Pedal Builds, Mods and Repairs
Anyone can say they can play a song. It depends how clean it is, how good it sounds, etc. At least need an audio clip or something.
He's been playing for 2 months, do we need anymore info?

Quote by notgoodbutslow
sigh* u guys dont believe... oh well i tried

It doesn't matter what you say, if we don't hear him we can't say how well he's doing. If we heard your friend we wouldn't just sit here criticizing, we'd be giving constructive criticism. It's not like we can see music. Oh and by the way if you really thing your friend can play Eruption you must have not really listened to him. Sure you listened to him, but you haven't listened to him in musical sense.
Last edited by cornmancer at Jul 3, 2009,