I just started learning theory a little while ago, I undertstand the WWHWW or whatever it is thing, and how it works on the fretboard.
What do I do now?
Is it a good idea to learn all the notes on the fretboard, then the major scale in every key?
How long would this take with 10-15 mins on it each day?
Can anyone reccommend me a good site with the positions of all the notes on the fretboard (So I don't learnt it wrong) and the notes in all the keys of the major scale so I can check if I figured it out right.
I jst figured out how to work that, but it comes up strange on my computer. There is another half of a neck below the main one, an it refuses to show notes on the high e string.
It's a very good idea to learn all the notes on the fretboard before you start any more theory. Here is a picture of the notes. Check out Freepower's video lessons specifically "Bitesize music theory."
Music theory can be very complex or very simple...just depends on the person. You should get a good book (or surf the web to find a good site: http://www.8notes.com/theory/ is quite good when you're just starting out) on the subject. Pocket Music Theory is in a lot of bookstores and it's usually only $5 or so and it covers all the basics pretty well. Nothing replaces a good teacher though as only they can sit down with you and work with you through any questions you might have.
Best way to learn theory is to listen to lots of music, analyse lots of music and use theory to help you understand what you're playing...it hasn't really got anything to do with what's on the fretboard, it's about understanding why things sound the way they do.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Quote by steven seagull