Disclaimer: I am not very good at writing good dialogue. It is one of my weak points, with that, rip away.

-----
A critter that looked like a cross between a guinea pig and another member of the rodent family with a longer tail nibbled with its fingers clenched tight towards it's chest. The word "protective" would cross one's mind. The guinea pig-long tailed rodent cross hopped across an expanse of wet (not damp, too liquid to be damp) grey concrete. The water was too shallow for any ripples to grow out of where it's feet had been, but tiny driplets of water still reared up after every step in quick sucession.

"That rodent was fast," a boy remarked.
"It has to be, to not get eaten" exclaimed a girl, "Good morning, Wet Amber!"

The rodent walked away from the two chattering human forms and into a much darker patch of ground, where the sunlight was blocked by a tree. Then it could nibble away it's secret food in peace.

The girl thought that it's eyed glowed from it's hideaway in the dark.

"What does it eat?" she asked the boy.
"I dunno", he replied, "maybe...peanuts?"
"Peanuts! We have those. We have lots of those!" she said. "In my 'sack".
"Okay" he said, and reached into her knapsack, and produced a sealed plastic bag containing dry roasted peanuts still in their shells, in sharp contrast to the wet ground below.
"Don't scare it away"
"I won't"
"Wait"
"What?"
"I can't open it"
"Here"
"Thanks"

The pair stealthed up to the tree, careful to disturb the least water as possible.

-------------------------

"Aw!" the girl exclaimed, "It's gone!"
"Well maybe it went up the tree" the boy said.
"Oh you know i'm not allowed to climb trees" the girl replied.
"Why not?" you can climb perfectly well. I see you all the time on the monkey bars back at school"
"What do you mean by 'see me all the time'?"
"I mean..."
"No, mom won't let me"
"She isn't here"
"No"
"What about the peanuts?"
"We can leave them for Wet Amber here at the base of the tree"