Hey all,

I've recently come to a troublesome dillema. I've been attending for about 3 months private 1:1 guitar lessons with a local tutor at a discounted rated of £30 instead of his average £40 an hour rate.

Now I've recently been told he probably will be moving me to lessons with groups of 2-4ish. He states this would be good for me to work alongside more advanced guitarists so my drive gets boosted to achieving my goals faster, but he has also slipped in it's also because im paying a discount rate, which while understandable is still more than a average private lesson here in the uk.

On a personal level I don't feel confident or comfortable playing with others with my current skill, and I also feel in a selfish way, the attention and focus of this tutor will be split into 2-4 through the hour. So i fear what I actually learn and gain from the hour will decrease. I can see the positives of group lessons but I have this tingley sensation against it at the moment. Although I have stated these concerns, it kinda feels Im being pressured into it (maybe for a good reason?)

I just wanted everyones views on their view of the situation and how they would proceed. I am also very interested on your views, experience and advice on private 1:1 lessons vs group based lessons.
Last edited by Noir17 at Jul 4, 2009,
I would try and get used to playing in front of people. Screw what anyone else thinks about your playing, they are getting lessons too right?
A bunch of RG's
]Ibanez RG2550Z
1990 Ibanez rg550
ZW Buzzsaw
Ibanez: s470
Jackson: RR Flying V
Charvel: 90's model sunburst
Jackson Stealth
Mesa Boogie Solo 50
Sunn cab