Hello there!

The bassist in my band has currently only 1 bass (for normal tuning) and 1 ok Amp, no effects on it and he has no pedals aswell.

But we're going to playing in Drop C for couple songs, and he needs his bass in normal tuning for other songs and musicschool. Retuning every string isn't an option as it's not good for the neck.

So we are looking for a second bass, LEFT handed. It will be used for Drop C tuning, NO 5 string bass. Price should not go above 500euro. (He uses his fingers, if this matters at all/P)

Also, since our bassist hasn't got any pedal so far, and he never used one so far, he' planning on buying 1, maximum 2 pedals. What we are playing is mainly Katatonia stuff, also some 3 days grace. I told him he should be trying out some chorus pedals, don't know if I should be giving him advice though, i'm a bloody guitarist after all :P

So advice on a new bass, and some advice on some pedals are really welcome!

Thanks!

EDIT == advice on string thickness welcome too
Last edited by ButterflyJones at Jul 4, 2009,
I don't see why you couldn't re-tune- It's not like he's going to have school five minutes after a gig / practice or something. Also, why does he need any pedals? Unless there's a deliberate use for them, it's just a waste of money.
retune from Drop C to standard each time?
If it's same for guitar, that's not good for your neck, and strings won't stay in tune at start.

No pedals? kk, i thought most users here really like bass chorus etc though :P :P
Quote by ButterflyJones
retune from Drop C to standard each time?
If it's same for guitar, that's not good for your neck, and strings won't stay in tune at start.

No pedals? kk, i thought most users here really like bass chorus etc though :P :P

Yeah, I would definitely get thicker strings for this, but I've never had a tuning issue like that affect the neck.