So I recently started learning theory, and consistently practice on an acoustic. Acoustic strings broke so I switched back to electric.

But I can't seem to bring myself to practice the songs I am performing with my band in 2 weeks...
They bore me.
They were stupidly easy in the first place, but now that I've switched back to electric, they're hard.
And I can't manage to sit down and practice the parts I can't get right.

I've tried and tried.. any suggestions...?

Edit: easy way to say that...

I can't focus on cover songs. I prefer just playing/improvising now. Practicing scales and chords doesn't seem right on an electric either.
Drink the sauce. Go on, it's okay. Just remember, I am the quest.

Quote by illuminatiano
YOU ARE A NO GOOD LAZY FORGETFUL STONER WITH NO FUTURE YOU ARE WORTHLESS TO SOCIETY
Last edited by Bubbles203 at Jul 4, 2009,
You just need better self discipline. I don't like scale exercises either but I still do them every day.
if you like improvising, try adding variations to the song. the whole point of a cover is to make it your own and not sound like the original. good luck!
LEEDLE LEEDLE LEEDLE LEE
if you dont want to play those ****ty songs, then dont play them. explain, your bandmates, that the songs do not satisfy you and suggest playing something more interesting. after all two weeks is a long time.
Quote by metalonastrat
if you dont want to play those ****ty songs, then dont play them. explain, your bandmates, that the songs do not satisfy you and suggest playing something more interesting. after all two weeks is a long time.

not if theres a gig in 2 weeks.
TS just play them and explain to your band that after 2 weeks you don't wanna play those songs.
Quote by Eliyahu
Mr.Cuddles killed The Metal!!!! FUCK YES!

Quote by TheReverend724
Mr Cuddles pretty much nailed it...

Quote by thanksgiving

"Oh Mr.Cuddles, you make my pants go boom boom. I are horny. Do not disappoint I"

Viscara (my band)