Hey guys, new to this site, and glad I finally joined... you are going to shoot me after you read this.

I bought a guitar about 8 years ago when I was a freshman in high school. I bought it mainly to play punk and real easy stuff, and did NOT bother to practice like I should (what a shame, hindsight is 20/20).

I am trying to start practicing everyday rather than just fooling around and playing songs, and wanted some advice.

The worst thing about my playing is I have plateaued with my picking, I really can't pick fast at all. Other than the 1-2-3-4 (and variations of that) what else would you suggest I look into? I have a metronome and have started using that daily.

I think this is where I want to start first. With all the other fancy stuff (tapping, hammer ons, pulloffs, etc.) I can find things to help my technique.

Thanks much!

Matt
Just try to play along to things that you like. Playing is the main way to improve your 'everything' on guitar. As long as you are playing, you are practicing anyway.
Quote by Jaymz2K
Kidding, they hate you and want you to be miserable.

Also, Charmander.
Quote by Jack Off Jill
If I teach myself to cum on command with the word Jackpot... Won't make any bets, but I'll still be a winner.
Quote by Bowe
so wait... does PETA think all gay people are vegans?
i think the way i've progressed the most technique-wise is still just by playing songs that i like, rather than any kind of exercise. so make sure that when you're listening to music you keep an eye out for any technical-sounding songs that you think you have any chance at all of being able to play in the near future, but even more importantly sounds awesome. you can start keeping a list of songs you'd like to eventually learn and that'll be like your lesson plan.
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!