Hey all, this is my first post so go easy

I started playing guitar back in September 08 - self-taught, no previous musical interest etc so its been fairly challenging. Anyways without givin you my life story, i own a Yamaha Pacifica 012 which is gettin a bit manky - but it plays fine for what i need it for, which is just a few hours of practice a night (all i can manage atm).

Im really into this guitar s*it, but do you guys think that with only 9/10 months behind me and a guitar that still functions, that its worth an upgrade? I could probably afford to spend £500 on a guitar and maybe a further £200 replacing my crappy amp, which as i understand is a pretty big budget for someone whos still a beginner (im only 17 aswell), but i dont wanna rush into anything...

Thoughts and opinions?? If you think yes then which guitars/amps would you recommend i look at? Cheers..
Quote by barfrog
Hey all, this is my first post so go easy

I started playing guitar back in September 08 - self-taught, no previous musical interest etc so its been fairly challenging. Anyways without givin you my life story, i own a Yamaha Pacifica 012 which is gettin a bit manky - but it plays fine for what i need it for, which is just a few hours of practice a night (all i can manage atm).

Im really into this guitar s*it, but do you guys think that with only 9/10 months behind me and a guitar that still functions, that its worth an upgrade? I could probably afford to spend £500 on a guitar and maybe a further £200 replacing my crappy amp, which as i understand is a pretty big budget for someone whos still a beginner (im only 17 aswell), but i dont wanna rush into anything...

Thoughts and opinions?? If you think yes then which guitars/amps would you recommend i look at? Cheers..

go for an amp first, it really defines your tone much more than your guitar. something like an orange cube or epi valve jr. is what I normally recommend, but what is your style of music mostly?