I'm not new to playing guitar, but I'm new to learning anything about ultimate guitar and the type of stuff Paul Gilbert does. I grew up on classic rock guitar, before EVH was old enough to play. Now I want to learn a few new tricks to augment my demented chords and enhance my rock and blues licks.

I've reviewed quite a few vids on Malmsteen, Satriani, Petrucelli, Vai, Gilbert, and maybe a few others I cant remember right now. Overall, I seem to keep gravitating back to the Paul Gilbert tunes. He seems to have the most fun playing, and his stuff seems to catch my ear most and make me smile a lot. He really likes to emphasize "what is musical" instead of just showing off a bunch of ultra fast stuff that sounds like everybody else, and I like that.

So I started looking at his instructional DVD's out there and wondered if anyone has opinions on which ones are most informative and most educational. I've kinda narrowed it down to Intense Rock I & II, and Get Out of my Yard. Not sure about the Silence DVD yet, I suspect the first two might have more fundamentals?

And he has some clips on youtube that I cant tell where they came from, but would love to have the DVD they are on. The best example is this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FCojcP_6AkI

I love the funky rhythm tips he has at the end of this clip, but is that clip from a DVD of his?

Anybody ever bought any of PG's instructional stuff?
Last edited by soundchaser59 at Jul 5, 2009,
Paul Gilbert is a god. however... what kind of instruction are you looking for?
Quote by SPBY
Paul Gilbert is a god. however... what kind of instruction are you looking for?

The kind that is in those Paul Gilbert sample clips I found on youtube. He explains it well, he plays it slow and fast, dirty or clean, he throws in a bit of theory behind what he's doing (which is fine with me, I understand all the theory stuff he says in those clips) and his licks are catchy and musical.