Ive been thinking of buying some effects pedals and i need to know whats good and bad because im a noob

what are the best pedals for a distortion, delay, and all that sort of stuff
also i want to know what pedals are neccesary and what are not

all help will be appreciated

im on a bit of a budget as well so not too expensive
Last edited by museiscool at Jul 7, 2009,
Quote by Avedas
What's your budget? What do you play? What would you prioritize?

nothing too expensive, i play muse mostly, and i would like a distortion and delay, but i dont know what other effects are good for rock/hard rock stuff
What amp are you using? If you're on a budget and your amp can already do a decent distortion you may want to spend more money on something other than an OD/Dist/Boost pedal. Boss makes decent pedals for a good price. You may like a Boss DD-3 which should fit in your price range. If you play a lot of Muse you may be interested in a wah pedal like this one.
Nova repeater for delay.
Fuzz factory for fuzz, Matthew Bellamy uses this loads.
Gear
Tokai Love Rock
Vox AC4
Danelectro Transparent Overdrive
T.C. Electronic Nova Repeater
Stomp Under Foot Violet Rams Head
^ Those, except he's on budget.

You can get an Ibanez DE7 Delay quite cheaply, and for the price they're very nice. For distortion, perhaps look into something like a Big Muff, or a Little Big Muff if you want it as cheaply as possible.
EHX Deluxe Memory Man or TC Nova Delay for the delay.
ZVEX Box of Rock, MI Audio Crunchbox or Catalinbread DLS for distortion.
for a fuzz type distortion, go for Big Muff.
Ibanez RG321MH (Air Classic/Tone Zone)
Fernandes Telecaster (Twang King/stock bridge pickup)
Blackstar HT-20 (Scumback 55 speaker/ Tung Sol tubes)
TC Electronic Nova Repeater
Lava Cables Clear Connect, Soar and Mini ELC