So I'm pretty new to playing with other people and I'm wondering about this.
Say I play with a bassist, if I solo in A (for example), does this mean he can play any note in that scale?
And also, how does chords go with scales?

Again, completely new to this.
Thanks.
There was a hole here.
It's gone now.
Yes, there really aren't any rules. As long as he would stay in A he wouldn't be all off. However he'd also want to outline the chord progression that you're playing over.
Quote by thsrayas
Why did women get multiple orgasms instead of men? I want a river of semen flowing out of my room to mark my territory.

You can play a shoestring if you're sincere
- John Coltrane

For a chord to be perfectly in key, it must contain only notes from the key you're in (C major'd be C D E F G A and B). However, you can ignore this to a degree for more colour/etc in your songs. I'd avoid minor 3rds, diminished 5ths, and minor 7ths in a major key unless you're using it to change key or just sound scary.

To put this into context, the 7 "standard" triads that're in C major are
C Dm Em F G Am Bdim
I ii iii IV V vi viidim (This is a standard notation for chords- damn useful to have)
The Bdim is often avoided apart from Bdim -> C since it's diminished, hence hard to use. A few useful resolutions to the I (using numeral notation since it's more general):

vib7(minor 7th chord) I
viib5(b5b7 too if you want)* I
V7 (dom7, that's a major triad and a minor 7th) I

A "normal" way to do things is to start on the I chord, then have a few measures of other chords in the key, then one of the resolutions back to the I, or if you want a more solid resolution IM7 (7th chords roll like that, I've not got the theory to tell you why) could be used.

Sorry if I overkilled it. xD